Tales From the Gym: Part 1

 I hate the gym. Not because I’m a germophob. Not because I dislike exercise.  The gym  smells of sweat & desperation. Gross & grosser.

I prefer to do classes over using the equipment there. I think it has something to do with my being slightly hyper-active and my A.D.D. I take 2 classes at the gym: Kwando & Zumba.

Kwando is basically Tae Bo. I assume they don’t call it that because of copyright infringement, or perhaps the mental image it conjures of a greased up muscular dude in an inappropriate unitard. That just makes people uncomfortable. Again, gross, but that is neither here nor there. It is a pretty fun class.

Zumba. I tried it a couple of times with a friend, then got hooked. Zumba is what Jazzercize was in the 80’s. It’s an aerobic dance fad heralded by middle-age women everywhere.  It’s basically a mix of Salsa & Hip Hop. It’s really fun, especially with friends.

The worst part of the gym is that occasional glimpse of myself in the mirror during the classes. I had a moment last night where I saw my reflection and thought “You. I will defeat you.” I really am my own worst enemy. That smell of sweat and desperation? I think that’s just me. Sweaty from working hard, desperate to get it over with.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Jil says:

    Love it! 🙂

  2. Anne Leifheit says:

    Yeah! You started a blog!

    1. Jenny Lind says:

      Just what the world needed….my inner monologue.

  3. Tamara says:

    You know I wrote about Zumba, right? 🙂

    1. Jenny Lind says:

      HAHAHA! NO! I need to go see that right away. Hilar.

  4. Dad says:

    Based on your blog, I have disposed of both my half-gallon bucket of grease AND my unitard! I realize now that the world wasn’t ready…
    But seriously…never fear failure! Every successful person can recount VOLUMES of failures! Make your failures a source of inspiration and conviction to persevere!
    But what do I know?!

    1. Jenny Lind says:

      Dad, you are the best. Love you so much.

Leave a Reply

