Dream Killers

Testing...1 2 3...

If you have a big dream, you need to stock up on ketchup because that dream will bring out massive quantities of HATER TOTS.

Something worse than the hater tots are the people you love and respect that do not believe in you. For years, I mistakenly put too much stock into what one person’s opinion of me was. This person does love me, just doesn’t believe in me. Ouch. I realize I am a drama queen, but I can assure you I am not exaggerating. As painful as this has been for me, it has taught me an amazing hard-learned lesson: not everyone is going to buy into your dreams!

I had to teach myself to quit looking for validation from people who do not believe in me. (Wish I got that right all the time.) Some people would use that sting of rejection to fuel their passion to succeed. Not me. I don’t desire to prove anyone wrong. I just desire to do things I love.

It is one of my greatest fears in life that I would be a “dream killer” for someone else. I pray I never make someone feel the way I have felt before. Don’t be someone’s speed bump. Don’t be that part of their story someday when they do something incredible and it was in SPITE of you, or worse yet that they never even tried because you took the wind out of their sails.

I have the most remarkable support system in place. My family, dear friends and wonderful church family have been amazing cheerleaders. I desire to prove them right. Let’s do this.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. GaryC says:

    Jenny, I watch you every week with the kids in youth group, and be assured, you are not a dream killer. A good example is our friend who’s music was just released on iTunes this week. I’m sure you had a lot to do with that.

    1. Jenny Lind says:

      Thanks Gary! And thanks for encouraging students, too! So incredible to see them grow & embrace their gifts.

Leave a Reply

