I Got A Tattoo

I think tattoos are freakin’ cool. So I got one. ‘Nuff said.

I’ve been kicking around tattoo ideas for a couple of years. (I used to joke that there was nothing I loved enough to get tattooed to my body, except maybe a short stack of pancakes.) Things just never lined up for me to actually pull the trigger on it until this weekend when I found myself in a Seattle tattoo shop. I texted my husband, David, and told him I was getting a tattoo.  Knowing I had a couple of different things in mind, he asked what I had decided on, and I told him I was going to get Boba Fett. (I am the nerd of David Conlee’s dreams.) His reply was “haha! Sexy.”  So glad my husband has a sense of humor. However, my tattoo artist Nick did not appear to. When he asked why I was laughing, I told him about the exchange I had with David, and he said, “Some people do find that sexy.”, which made me laugh until I realized he wasn’t actually joking.

Nick was completely covered in tattoos. He was really nice, but very serious. I told him what I had in mind, he drew something up, and minutes later I am sitting in a chair having the word “Love” permanently inked on my person. (No, I didn’t get Boba Fett. Or a short stack.)

Nick began to shave my wrist in preparation of the tattoo. I said, “Are you trying to tell me my wrist is hairy, sir?!” and he very matter-of-factly explained that he was removing tiny body hairs because they sometimes have germs that can cause infection, etc. You shouldn’t give a bad time to someone who is humor-impaired. Or, maybe it’s just MY humor. When he got to work on my tattoo, he asked what I did for a living. I told him I was a church secretary. “Are you serious?”, he said. I get that a lot.

There is a crazy rush of adrenaline that happens when you get a tattoo. I understand its addictive nature now. The pain I experienced was very minimal, and I would compare it to a burning feeling. It took about 5 minutes when it was all said and done.

Yes, I am aware I have altered my appearance forever. Don’t worry, I am sure it’s not going to affect my modeling career much.

A friend asked this morning, “What do you think that will say when you’re 80?” I said, “Who cares! It’ll be on my elbow by then!”

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Liz says:

    I love the tattoo! This is going to sound weird, but I forgot how funny you are 🙂 To explain to the other people reading this I haven’t seen or really talked to Jenny in over a decade. Thankfully Facebook reunited us.

  2. Jennie says:

    Did it have anything to do with the “To Write Love on Her Arms” vision/movement/thingy?

    I’ve wanted a tattoo for years. I had a cross w/ vines envisioned for my lower back…but then realized that I didn’t want a “tramp stamp.” I’ve seen small angel wings at the base of someone’s neck. I loved that – but don’t want to copy someone’s tattoo. Same deal w/ Victoria Beckham’s “I am my beloved’s and he is mine” down her neck…LOVE that one, but I don’t want to just copy Victoria Beckham. :/ So…here I sit…tattooless.

    1. Jenny Lind says:

      Nope – nothing to do with that organization, but they are cool. Really, it’s not that deep. There’s several reasons why I thought this was the right thing for me. It’s not one thing in particular.

      I think you’ll figure out what is right for you.

Leave a Reply

