You Can't Take It With You

My friend Cathy and I were talking about moving. I know a lot of people who are moving or who have moved recently. It’s such a great metaphor for life.

Every time I have moved, we have ordered a small dumpster from the disposal company. There is something completely freeing about ditching old crap you don’t need any more. Why do we hang onto old stuff? No, I am not referring to that priceless teddy bear you got when you were 3 years old. I have a heart! I am talking about old newspapers and junk like that. (FYI – we have the interweb. Who needs them?) I am talking about stuff you can live without.

More than just actual “stuff”, we hold onto emotional baggage, too. Some of us are emotional hoarders. It is paralyzing. It interferes with every relationship you have or hope to have. You’re sitting among piles and piles of stuff. No one is able to get in or out. Not even you. Those hurts from your past don’t have to continue to hurt you. You can choose to not dwell in that any more.

Whether it’s literally stuff or emotional stuff, I offer this small token of advice: be free.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Tony Alicea says:

    Yes! I’m throwing the crap out. Freedom! 🙂

    1. Jenny Lind says:

      Good word. I’m stealing it.

Leave a Reply

