Becoming

I’ve got your basic good news/bad news situation for you today. Good news: ANYTHING is possible. Bad news: if you want your life to change, it is YOU who has to change. I am sorry. I wish it were simpler.

I love this definition of insanity: doing the same thing over and over and expecting a different result. Stop expecting things to happen when you keep doing the same crap over and over again.

Ever felt “stuck”? Powerless to change your circumstances. Caught in the undertow of other people’s decisions. You can’t even put your finger on what’s wrong, because everything feels wrong. You should know it’s not forever. It’s not the end. It’s just a season. It’s an in-between time. Ride it out! Don’t lose it. When you feel like you can’t go any further, that is when you need to push the hardest. You’ll get your breakthrough.

Something that has breathed new life into me is my admitting that I love to perform and I am pursuing it. I work on it a little bit every day. Small steps are STILL steps! Take 15 minutes today to do research on something you have ALWAYS wanted to do. I have stopped making excuses for why I can’t or counting all the reasons why I am not good enough, and why I don’t deserve it.

For 10 years, I prayed God would give me a dream. Every time, I came back to the same thing and I denied it. I pushed it down even deeper until one day it exploded in a rush of tears as my husband and I left a concert. He said about one of the artists, “She was good, but the whole time I watched her I thought YOU could be doing that.” I couldn’t even speak, I just burst into tears. I admitted it. Since that day, the dream has grown and gotten so much bigger than me that I feel ridiculous. I can honestly tell you though that I don’t pursue it for my own glory, but for the Lord’s. I am simply offering up all I am to God. I have to be honest, I don’t know what the Lord has planned.

I went to a play recently. The whole first act was just 1 woman. She was incredible. I thought my heart might burst! I was on the edge of my seat. Yes! This is what I want to do. Well…it’s PART of what I want to do.

I am not everyone’s idea of beautiful. Or talented. But I am His and I am on my way to becoming who He called me to be.

No more excuses. Forget motivation. This is your moment! Do what you were created for!

Leave a Reply

