An Open Letter to Restaurateurs

Dear Restaurateurs,

I could use some clarification on a couple of items.

“Hello, my name is (blank) and I’ll be taking care of you this evening.”

Really? Who came up with this greeting? Just once, I’d like to ask what all this “care” entails. As someone who does not have children, I need a plan for who will care for me in my old age. Though I am certain that this is not what the server has in mind.  I see nothing wrong with “I’ll be serving you this evening.”

“Sure, I can get you a refill. No problem.”

Well, I didn’t THINK it was a problem…until you said that. My thirst is inconvenient, I know.  I like it when my glass is never empty, and when I don’t need to ask for a refill. I also like it when I don’t have to ask for a glass of water. Is there a drought I am unaware of? Why are restaurants rationing water? What happened to the days of being seated and immediately brought glasses of water? So what if I only take two sips of it.

Please don’t spit in my food. Thanks.

Sincerely,

Jenny Lind

4 Comments Add yours

  1. April WHite says:

    Most definitely the things we think!!! 🙂 Seriously, when did it become a “chore” to get water to the table right away? LOL, this post is great!

    1. Jenny Lind says:

      Thanks April! 🙂

  2. chris says:

    That is not part of my usual restaurant experience. Maybe if I went somewhere that I actually got out of the car and went inside …

Leave a Reply

