Unexpected Blessings

I love to sing.  It is truly an act of worship to my Creator, for me. My husband jokes about it, but I wake up singing. He calls me “Snow Freakin’ White”. I cannot help it. It’s just who I am. It’s an expression of my joy and my heart. (If I STOP singing, then you should panic. Something ain’t right!)

I prayed a long time ago and told the Lord I would walk through any door He opened for me. I prayed for favor. I prayed for opportunity. I prayed for an anointing. My answer came, as most do, in unexpected packages.

I’ve sung in church since I was a kid, but really dug in when I was a teenager. I’ve had the privilege to sing at every church I’ve been a part of. I was scared when we began attending a large church in 2004. There’s no way I was good enough! But God had something else in mind. I was singing in our church just 3 months later.

The past few years, God has given me opportunities to lead worship in student, children’s and women’s ministries. God even opened the door for me to sing at a retirement home. 

I am ashamed to admit there was a season of my life that I did not really appreciate these things as “amazing opportunities”. I am not sure any singer aspires to headline retirement homes. But I promised God I would walk through ANY door He opened. So, I was obedient.

It literally hit me one day as I left the retirement home and headed back toward my house. I felt something wash over me. It was the realization that I was teaching little kids how to worship, and at the opposite end of the spectrum leading people in their sunset years. What a beautiful and wonderful thing. God must really love me that He entrusted me with something so dear. I wept the whole way home.

My voice may never fill a sold-out stadium, but it has echoed through the halls of a retirement home and meant the world to those precious people.

I may never get to sing in a swanky coffee shop, but I have sung my heart out with a roomful of kids and teenagers.  

I have no idea what is next for me, but I am excited. I know it will come in a form I do not expect. It will surprise me. I will be thankful. I will honor God with it.

Press on.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Tony Alicea says:

    Love this! Sing it!

  2. Nikki says:

    I think it’s been awhile since I’ve told you…I absolutely love your singing. NOBODY…can sing ‘Everlasting’ like you do. Seriously. They play it on the radio and I hear you. 🙂 And I wish it was you. And hope one day that will be you…on the radio. But if not, you are always on the radio in my head. 🙂

    I posted a little ditty today about passions…if you haven’t already, swing on over and drop a note! 🙂

    1. Jenny Lind says:

      Nikki, that means the world to me. Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

