Vaguebooking & The Like

Let’s discuss social media etiquette. I’d like to focus on Facebook today. While this is NOT pointed at anyone in particular, I would like to just highlight a few things I see taking place regularly that I think may help you.

You make statements without really saying something. This, my friends, is what is affectionately referred to as “vaguebooking”.

You think you’re being clever. You’ve got your shorts in a bunch over something. You want to say something without having to deal directly with the person or issue. This is passive aggressive behavior in its purest form. I caution you – don’t go there. Often it will result in more conflict and more strained relationships.

Facebook is not a place for your inability to confront someone. Everyone knows it is actually a place for talking to people from High School that you don’t really care about. JK!

Social media is meant to connect people. Let’s keep it positive, folks. Let’s not be a bunch of Debbie Downer’s all the time. 

If someone is bugging you, own up! Confront it, or simply “hide” them in your news feed. If you feel strongly, perhaps it is time to “unfriend” them. I have never personally unfriended someone, but have been on the receiving end. It used to hurt my feelings and make me feel like I was in Middle School again, but now I tend to laugh about it. (I’ve said it before – and I’ll say it again: if someone offends you and you don’t give them opportunity to make it right, this remains on YOU, not them.)

Additionally, I want to strongly discourage you from making politically charged posts. Why? Because it’s offensive and/or divisive. Or, feel free to post whatever you like but just be ready for people to jump all over you and challenge you. You may say what you like! It’s YOUR Facebook, after all. In turn, you must be willing to accept the consequences and fallout of passionate statements. Don’t expect everyone to agree!

Maybe I am wrong. Maybe my keep-it-light-n-fluffy attitude gives people the idea I am not very deep. Oh well! At least I am not boring.

I guess what I am trying to say is quit taking yourself so seriously. Now, let’s all be friends. Play nice. Can’t we all just get along?

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Tony Alicea says:

    Preach! P.S. I’m totally stealing this line:

    “if someone offends you and you don’t give them opportunity to make it right, this remains on YOU, not them.”

    1. Tony Alicea says:

      Oh and if people constantly post pictures of themself posing with pouty lips, is it called “Voguebooking”?

      1. Jenny Lind says:

        Are you saying I post “pouty lip” pics? 1. I’d NEVER. 2. My hubs would NOT approve. LOL!

    2. Jenny Lind says:

      Do I get royalties? Help a sista out is all I’m sayin’!

  2. Kathi Garlick says:

    Thanks for your point about posting politically charged statements. If you feel that fb is the place for that, and you don’t care who agrees or disagrees, go for it, I guess. As for me, don’t expect to see anything political soon. It makes me uncomfortable. I’m all about keeping it light and not debating whether certain elected officials are the anti-christ!

    1. Jenny Lind says:

      I could not agree more.

Leave a Reply

