That's Dumb

My attempt at being "artsy".

Ever have someone tell you to “sleep on it” when you’re agonizing over a life-altering decision? Are you ACTUALLY able to SLEEP?! No.

“What’s good for the goose is good for the gander.” Besides being completely irrelevant because no one really knows what a “gander” is unless you live on a farm for Pete’s sake, what’s good for one person is NOT necessarily good for someone else.

“The pot calling the kettle black.” This just sounds racist to me.

“You made your bed, now lay in it.” I don’t know about you, but when I actually go to all the trouble of making my bed, I feel like I should stand there for a moment and admire it.

“There’s no use crying over spilled milk.” FALSE. A few years ago, my husband and I were carrying groceries through the garage to the kitchen. In doing so, I dropped a gallon of milk in the laundry room. Milk. Everywhere. It went under the washer & dryer. We had to shimmy everything out and clean it real good as to avoid that rotten smell. I wanted to cry. So, now every time I am carrying the milk, the man says, “You got that?” Rad.

What sayings do you think are dumb?

2 Comments Add yours

  1. L and S Jewelry Designs says:

    “pull yourself up by your bootstraps.” Listen, if I had boots with straps, I certainly NEVER reveal this information.

    “cross your fingers and toes.” Cuz that’ll help. And if you can cross your toes, you should join the circus.

    “Cuz baby your a Firework, Come on show ’em what you’re worth. Make ’em go ‘oh oh oh, as you shoot across the sky-y-y.” Maybe not a saying, but dumb nonetheless…

    1. Jenny Lind says:

      HAHAHA!

      Hey, I like that song.

Leave a Reply

