Armageddon: a P.K.’s Nightmare

No, I’m not talking about the movie with Bruce Willis. But I do like it. (Don’t judge me! How dare you!)

My daddy was a preacher and a good one at that. He is an excellent public speaker and teacher, and that skill combined with his love for people comes in handy today as an executive.

As a kid, someone in our church was after my dad for months to teach on the book of Revelation. So, he decided to do it. Sadly, that person never ONCE attended the class, but that is neither here nor there. It’s funny how 20-something years later that still annoys the crap out of me, and I needed to get that off my chest.

Dad made the end of the world seem less terrifying and more…informative. Like any good Pentecostal kid would, I had NIGHTMARES about it. This is no fault of my father’s. I blame this on my over-active imagination.

One night, I had a terrible nightmare and I leapt from my bed and took off down the hall to my parent’s room. Once I heard the comforting sounds of my dad snoring, I knew with absolute certainty the rapture had not taken place. I was ok and could resume sleep.

Recently, this struck me funny as I realized I had to pass by my older sister’s bedroom on that sprint across the house to mom & dad’s room. The thought NEVER once occurred to me to check and see if she was still there. Hilarious. Sorry, Sissy.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Aunt B says:

    Jenny, this was so funny. I’m sure if did make your dad laugh and feel good inside. I remember an “end of the world” scare when I was in high school. I was old enough to know better, but it was still kind of scary. Love to you and Davin 🙂

    1. Aunt B says:

      oops…”David” 🙂

    2. Jenny Lind says:

      I think everyone freaks about it at some point.

      Love you, Aunt B!

  2. Chris says:

    Pastor Couchman used to tell me on Friday afternoons “if the rapture happens before the Sunday service, you fill in for me.”

    1. Jenny Lind says:

      Just shared this comment w/David. We are busting up!

Leave a comment