Always Knock

Enjoying a coke & a smile at Disneyland in one of my fav spots, the French Quarter.

On that fated day at Disneyland where we got soaked on Splash Mountain (and my phone was murdered), I breathed a giant sigh of relief when we exited the ride and my Pop says, “I need to go back to the hotel and change.” I was absolutely miserable and drenched from head to toe. My shoes squished with every step I took.

Is there anything more difficult than prying off sopping wet jeans? I submit to you –  there isn’t. I feared I might need the assistance of the jaws of life to remove them from my person. I was not looking forward to that.
When we arrived back at the hotel, Pop went to his room to change, and my husband and I to ours. Housekeeping had clearly just finished up as they were now onto cleaning the rooms a few doors down from us.
Standing there, rifling through the dresser for dry articles of clothing, our hotel room door flung WIDE OPEN and the maid is asking me something about windex. This would not normally be an issue if not for the fact I was completely stark naked. Let’s break this down:
1. I hate being naked. I don’t want anyone seeing me naked, and I do not like naked people.
2. What happened to KNOCKING?! I worked in the hospitality industry for many years. You ALWAYS knock!!!!
3. Now that you have seen me naked and I am yelling at you and making it abundantly clear I do not desire your company, do NOT stand there and continue to attempt further conversation with me! (On the other hand, she didn’t run screaming in the opposite direction nor did she die of a heart-attack.)
As we left the hotel, Pop says “Oh wait, the maid left a bottle of windex in my room. I’m going to go give it to her.”, and it all became clear to me. Well, if seeing me naked spared Pop the humiliation, I guess I’ll take this one for the team.
As I often say, it could have been worse. Though, right now, the thought escapes me on what is worse than a housekeeper seeing my cash and prizes. Oh, nevermind. I just thought of something WAY worse…
12 Comments Add yours

  1. Alise says:

    I completely agree with you about taking off wet jeans. Hell, even if they’re just DAMP they’re a pain, but wet? Fuggeddaowdit.

    Thanks for the giggle today!

    1. Jenny Lind says:

      Thanks for reading!

  2. Nikki says:

    You’re hilarious! :o)

    1. Jenny Lind says:

      I don’t think I’m hilarious, but I think funny things happen TO me.

  3. BAHAHAHAHAHA!!!! I’m very paranoid about housekeeping opening the door, so I ALWAYS use the top latch lock thingy, even if I’m just in the room for 5 minutes.

    1. Jenny Lind says:

      You know…I USUALLY do that too!

  4. Jason Moore says:

    “Cash and prizes”? That is hilarious. I may just have to steal that one.

    1. Jenny Lind says:

      HAHAHA! Oh, Jason. Can’t wait til you get here next week! We will teach each other all sortsa fun sayings to torture loved ones with.

  5. Brooklynne says:

    bahahaha… i have a story that is VERY similar… except i peed my nylons in the process.. however, it did include a massive LACK of knocking and nakedness! hilarious! i miss you so much!

    1. Jenny Lind says:

      Thanks for reading! I miss you, Brookles! Can’t wait to hear your stories upon your return!

  6. Jeff (the Dad) says:

    I don’t understand. You never seemed to have a problem with nakedness at bath time or when your diaper was being changed (granted, getting out of a wet diaper was significantly easier than prying oneself out of soaked jeans!). What happened to you? You were so GLEEFUL in your nakedness…splashing around in the little plastic tub in front of the TV…only stopping to watch the commercials!!

    As for the hotel event…we can only be grateful that the maid was spared the experience had she actually come to where her mislaid Windex could be found!! I DID close the latch on the door, so the most she could have seen was through an itty bitty crack in the door. But let’s not talk about cracks…

    1. Jenny Lind says:

      I DID have issue w/nudity but you know, that whole being a BABY and all!

      Love you Poppy!

Leave a Reply

