Why So Serious?

My name is Kirstin, and I’m a sarcasm addict.

I have a problem, I will admit it. I can’t help but say things that are just dripping with sarcasm. It’s part of my personality, if you don’t like it then we can’t be friends (I’m kidding! That was sarcastic!!!) This tends to get me into trouble, I once had a co-worker who used to get extremely upset with me because of my sarcastic wit. Many of my friends are the same way; we share the same dry humor. But there are those who take everything I say seriously, and I respectfully ask for everyone to stop being so serious!

There is a time and a place for being serious, but not everywhere all the time. For example, I think hospitals shouldn’t always be serious. Whenever I have been in the hospital I have very much appreciated when the staff has a sense of humor! Also church, let’s be less serious at church. God has a sense of humor, I mean he created the platypus, no one could make that animal with a straight face.

Let’s take this a step further than just me and my humor. If someone you don’t know very well or someone in the public view says something that sounds offensive, or could be taken a different way, let’s not just automatically assume the worst that they are completely serious. I understand sometimes something taken out of context can sound bad, but let’s give those people the benefit of the doubt and not assume that they are a terrible person, maybe they didn’t mean it the way you heard it. Sometimes something written doesn’t come across the same as when it is being spoken. Let’s stop taking everything so seriously.

When everyone is laughing at something or don’t seem quite as offended as you, maybe you need to take a step back and decide if it is worth taking so seriously!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Mike Derrickson says:

    Sarcasm is my native tongue…love your post!

Leave a Reply

