Raising Your Parents

Let's do breakfast.

In honor of Father’s Day, I want to share a few thoughts regarding the child/parent relationships. I had a discussion recently with some students which also inspired today’s post. It is my hope that maybe someday, a young person will FINALLY try this.

Do things without being told to do them.

It’s simple, you see. This one little thing can completely change your relationship with your parents. It sounds manipulative, but I don’t mean it that way at all. It shows your parents that you CARE! It shows that you can be responsible.

I challenged a group of students to make a list of items that their parents ask of them FREQUENTLY and encouraged them to do so without being asked. Let’s see if any of them actually follow through. They have nothing to lose, but so much to gain.

If you do things BEFORE you are told to do them, sit back and watch as your parents begin to treat you like a mature young adult.

Hold the phone. What if we did this in ALL of our relationships?!  The bottom line here is effort. Are you willing to put in the work to make things better? How deep do you want your relationships to be?

Take the initiative. People are important. (Especially parents.)

3 Comments Add yours

  1. kelybreez says:

    Ummm… This is not possible.

    It would depopulate the earth too quickly and melt all the frozen freshwater.

    Let me elucidate.

    If, for instance, I started doing all the things my wife asks me to frequently, BEFORE she asked me (or, if I did them AT ALL — but that’s another blog post), she would keel over and die on the spot.

    Same thing would happen to all the parents of teenagers. I know it would have happened to mine.

    Then? Anarchy, that’s what. There would be no live parents.

    Thus… Can’t be done. Stellar idea, though. Brilliant one, in theory.

  2. kelybreez says:

    Ummm… This is not possible.

    It would depopulate the earth too quickly and melt all the frozen freshwater.

    Let me elucidate.

    If, for instance, I started doing all the things my wife asks me to frequently, BEFORE she asked me (or, if I did them AT ALL — but that’s another blog post), she would keel over and die on the spot.

    Same thing would happen to all the parents of teenagers. I know it would have happened to mine.

    Then? Anarchy, that’s what. There would be no live parents.

    Thus… Can’t be done. Stellar idea, though. Brilliant one, in theory.

    1. Jenny Lind says:

      HAHAHAHAHA! You may have a point, sir.

      Hey – thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

