Inconvenient

At Emerald Bay in Lake Tahoe, May 2011

Few things in life are as inconvenient as dreams. I’d say on the inconvenience scale it is just above nosebleed, but below the stomach flu.

The process of finding my dream took the better part of a decade. It had been there my whole life, but I could not admit it to myself and accept certain things. I even read several best-selling books by incredible Christian authors about discovering your dream. Every time, I came up empty because I was in DENIAL. These books were fantastic, but I refused to look at the obvious thing they were pointing out to me. So, I kept looking for something else. I could not accept it because I thought it was silly, and I kept searching for a “grown up” dream. But, dreams are supposed to be bigger than us.

This process has been painful on a lot of different levels and in ways I could not have imagined. It brought some things to the surface I have had to deal with and that has dramatically changed my life in just the past few months. The tough times on this journey will help me appreciate the good things to come and value them all the more. I am ready (now) to work for the things I want.

A friend taught me how we use our time, talent and treasure speaks volumes about who we are. So, how BAD do you want that dream? What are you willing to give up? What are the nonnegotiables? What is preventing you from taking that first step? Is it worth hanging onto? The answers might surprise you. Have an honest conversation with yourself and God. See what happens.

Dreams require time.  Time I spend watching TV is time NOT spent working toward my dream. We make time for the things we want. (Get up early! Stay up late! Do what you need to do. Even if it’s only for 15 minutes.)

Dreams require sacrifice. I may miss out on some activities or events due to my travel schedule with the mentoring program I am participating in in just one month. I am so excited.

Be specific. The more specifically I pray, the more amazed I am at how God answers prayer. Give God a chance. You can’t do it on your own, but He can do ANYTHING. Who are we to say what is possible and what isn’t? Did you create the Universe? Nope. No one is more creative than the Creator. I am blown away every day. It’s as though He was just waiting on me to get my act together. Hmm…

A major milestone for me was the day I stopped making excuses and telling myself I wasn’t good enough. The day I stopped that was the day I showed up for my own life and quit sleep-walking through it. My dream had been there since childhood. It was just buried under the baggage of insecurity.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Laurel Lundberg says:

    aw… Jenny! That’s awesome and timely! I’m actually in the process (early warning stages) of writing a song about dreams and how we spend too much time comparing ourselves to that other person (Hey! Ithink that’s the title: The Other Person!) who is climbing after their own dreams-and measuring our sucess-or lack thereof-to theirs… I’m guilty.
    You go girl!!

    1. Jenny Lind says:

      It starts when we’re 17-18 years old, about to graduate, and every living relative wants to know what you want to do with the rest of your life. What is super lame is that those same people have no idea what to do with their own lives, but are twice the age. I think this is a life-long learning & growing process. Ultimately, if we are following Jesus, we are right where we’re supposed to be. We just need to be faithful in the gifts and with the opportunities we’re given and let Him decide the rest.

      Women are TERRIBLE when it comes to comparing ourselves to others. I know when I’ve done it, it really prevented me from moving forward.

      I have no idea where this stuff will take me, but I am open to whatever God has. And I am going to work my fanny off!

Leave a Reply

