The Elephant in the Room

I like elephants and I have some elephant figurines, jewelry and the like. I don’t like to talk about this. I don’t like to say that I collect elephants. If you say that you collect something then everyone instantly decides that they need to help you add to that collection. I have had some people give me gifts of elephant, and I hate them. They aren’t attractive, they are not anything that I would ever even consider getting, but they are elephants and therefore I should like them. Let’s put it this way, I like elephants, but just because it’s an elephant doesn’t mean I like it.

As you can see from the diagram below, there’s not a lot of elephant paraphernalia that I would like:

 

So I know that I shouldn’t complain, if people give me a gift, it’s the thought that counts. Especially if  they just decide out of nowhere to give me a gift just because they saw an elephant something or other I guess I should be flattered that they were thinking about me.

I’m guessing you have a collector in your life. I’ve known several. The one that stands out is my husband’s grandma who has hundreds of ducks. It started out simple but then everyone started getting them for her. She has duck stuffed animals and duck figurines all over her house and even in her car. But she has resorted to giving them to my kids because she has so many and she won’t even notice if they’re gone. If you have a collector in your life don’t just buy them whatever they collect for their birthday, Christmas and everything in between. It’s the thought that counts, but if you don’t think and you just blindly grab a duck figurine it doesn’t count.

So before you buy that elephant lamp that you saw at Target; stop and think if it’s really a good gift or just an elephant. Are you getting me an elephant for the sake of giving me an elephant or will I really like it? Probably not. Better stick to a gift card… or cash. I’ll take cash.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I had an aunt that collected owls and ended up with the same predicament — everyone would give her owls and she ended up with a bazillion of ’em. (In fact, your graph looks like owl eyes to me…. maybe I should cut it out and give it to my aunt?)

    Beware telling the practical jokesters in your life that you collect something….. You could end up with something you really don’t want….

Leave a Reply

