Timing Is Everything

Today's post is written by my cousin, and one of my best friends and favorite people ever, Jason Moore. I love his heart for the Lord, young people, nerdy things like Star Wars & Egg McMuffins.

It’s been said that timing is everything. Now while that may be a gross overstatement, you must admit that timing plays an essential role in our daily lives. Just ask your boss the next time you show up late to work.

Ecclesiastes 3 tells us that there is a time for everything – a time to love, a time to mourn, a time to weep, etc. But nowhere in that passage does the writer specify that there is a time for breakfast. For me, breakfast is great any time of day. But I have learned that to the good folks at McDonald’s restaurants, breakfast time is very specifically and rigidly defined.

I was away from home one bright, sunny day. I was heading out of town and thought I would get some breakfast before hitting the road. I pulled into the drive-thru and patiently waited my turn to order. I could smell the flash-fried hash-browns and reheated pancakes wafting through my car vents. When I got up to the intercom and requested my Egg McMuffin, I was told that they had stopped serving breakfast just five minutes ago.

I was both disappointed and confused. It had only been five minutes. Isn’t there some sort of grace period? Don’t they still have food left in the warming trays? Do they just throw it all out at the specified time each day? Who says that breakfast must end at a certain time? Are there Breakfast Police? If so, is there a Breakfast Police Academy? If so, where do I sign up, and is there a guy there that can make funny noises with his mouth?

In this case timing mattered, albeit in a relatively insignificant way. What if it were something more important? Have I missed out on opportunities because I was not available when God called? God’s plan is being revealed whether we are ready or not. He wants us to participate in the wondrous things He is doing, but His work needs to been done whether it is us He uses or someone else. Am I too busy with other things that I miss God’s timing? The more I squeeze into my already busy life, the less I am available to Him. Am I like McDonald’s breakfast and only available from 5:00 to 10:30am Monday through Friday and until 11:00am on Saturdays and Sundays? If God calls at 11:05am, am I no longer available? I don’t want God to have to go somewhere else to find what He needs. Timing is everything.

Denny’s has it right. Breakfast is available all day every day. Think about it.

Leave a Reply

