Garage Sale Tales

My husband and I are losing our home to foreclosure after a 2 year battle with the bank, and are downsizing. (You can read all about it here. My husband put it into words much better than I ever could have.)

I decided last Thursday afternoon to have a garage sale. I swore I’d never do this in my adult life after watching my mother get haggled to death when I was a child. Exasperated, my mother yelled at a neighbor returning for a 5th time to “GO AWAY!” and “DON’T COME BACK!” I should add that this person was offering my mother 25 cents for EVERYTHING. Poor mother had reached her limit.

I mentioned the idea to my friend, Holly. Holly is a get-it-done and take-no-prisoners kind of woman. You always know where you stand with Holly. She is incredibly kind and giving, and is always there when you need her. I am terrible at asking for help, but I asked Holly to help me peddle my wares. She must either be crazy or REALLY love me (maybe a little of both), because she worked her rear end off. She sacrificed her only free Saturday in the longest time to help me. I am humbled and grateful for this.

All social etiquette goes out the window with garage sales. So, if you have one, you cannot be easily offended. Here are a few highlights of my interaction with folks throughout the day:

An old man showed up. “Got any books?”, he said. “No, sorry.” “Got any guns?” HOLD THE PHONE! Guns?! First of all, I am not 100% confident this man should be operating a motor vehicle much less handling firearms. Additionally, is it even LEGAL to sell guns at a GARAGE sale? Geez, I am naive. In any case, he bought a shovel, rake and mini-refrigerator – which makes me think he’s either a serial killer or a hoarder.

A woman rummaging through items on a table knocked off a glass knickknack, shattering it on my cement garage floor. “Was that my fault?”, she asked, without so much as flinching to pickup the item she broke. Almost in the same breath, asked me how much a different item was. When I told her $5, she responded immediately with, “$4?”. I laughed my fool head off later at the thought this lady broke something of mine, then had the nerve to ask for $1 OFF what I wanted for something else. Amazing.

A woman was buying some hand weights. Next to them were a set of ankle weights. My friend, Holly, told her they’d be ideal for a workout while vacuuming and housecleaning. The woman purchased the hand weights, went to her car, then remembering Holly’s idea about the ankle weights, returned immediately to purchase them. Hilarious.

Many friends stopped by and purchased items. It actually turned out to be a great day having Holly there and having so many wonderful friends stop by. I am convinced it was the most successful garage sale in the history of all garage sales and I never expect to have that kind of success again. So, methinks I shall not even bother attempting this in the future. A huge thanks to all who stopped by!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Becky says:

    congrats to your great success! lm”fh”o about the gun-man. what a blessing to have Holly there — an awesome friend!

    1. Jenny Lind says:

      She saved my bacon!

  2. Oh, Jenny! I saw on FB that you were having the garage sale…and were “downsizing,” but I had no idea it was due to foreclosure. I’m so sorry!! I just read David’s posts…how completely aggravating the way BofA handled your account!!

    I love both of your hearts though and despite all of this, you truly seem to be remaining positive and trusting that God has a plan in all of this. Bless you guys!!

    1. Jenny Lind says:

      Thanks, Jennie! Honestly, relieved it’s all coming to an end (sort of). BofA is STILL calling us! This house will prob sit empty for a while because of their negligence. Truth be told – it’s not the worst thing that could happen to us. 🙂

Leave a Reply

