What's Your Drink?

I got a latte from Starbucks the other day. I was asked by a co-worker how much it cost. My response, “Half a days wages!”

It’s true you know, coffee especially from the sacred St. Arbuckles is ridiculous. It’s just a beverage brewed from roasted beans, sometimes, milk, foam and perhaps lightly dusted with cinnamon. But I don’t care, I would still rather get the warm comfort from the mermaid cup, than the sludge from the coffee maker. It completes my mornings, especially when I have to go into work.

Don’t judge me. I’m sure you have your vice. How much did you pay for those shoes? I got mine on sale so that I could pay for my latte this morning!

Starbucks also helps me get in the spirit of certain times of year. I’m counting down the days until September 6th when I can have my first Pumpkin Spice Latte of the season. Also, once I see the red cups for the holidays I know that it’s the right time to start listening to Christmas music.

Plus, I have a theory that you are what you drink.You can tell a lot about a person by their drink order. I like to listen to people order. My favorite, the longest drink order ever “Grande No Foam Sugar Free Vanilla Non Fat Extra Hot Latte”. What can you tell from this? Well, she’s concerned about her health or at least her waist line (sugar-free, non fat), she takes her time with stuff (extra hot – gotta keep it warm a while), she likes to get down to business (no foam – just gimme the drink!) and she knows what she wants(the entire order). Some would call this high maintenance. You know that if you took this woman out to lunch she would order things “on the side” and ask if she could have “the grilled chicken instead of the breaded.” On the other hand there’s my husband who is a simple no frills kind of guy, he just orders the “Pike’s place brew with room for cream”.  Plain, simple and to the point.

To another end if you remember someone’s drink order it shows you care about them, and nothing makes them happier than brining them their drink.

So, what’s your drink? Mine? Grande Soy Carmel Macchiato!

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Love it!! September 6 cannot come fast enough! 🙂

    1. Jenny Lind says:

      I KNOW! I can’t wait!

  2. Reading into someone’s coffee order is like seeing into their soul. It’s a form of fortune telling in my book. So, Kirs, what does my order tell about me?

    Venti, extra hot, ristretto, 5-shot, breve, with 6-pump sugar free hazelnut and 6 splendas

    Be kind.

    1. Well Manda, I will break it down: Venti:you have a long day ahead of you, extra hot: it’s gotta last, ristretto: you’re showing off a little cuz most people don’t know what that is (; 5 shot: you have kids! breve: you make the most of things, the sugar free hazelnut and 6 splenda’s you are very sweet!

      ….the bottom line of your drink is you don’t have control over most of your life, so you have this elaborate drink order to give you some semblance of control.

      1. And this is why I love you with my whole heart. You’re spot on. Your interpretation of my order made me laugh out loud. Thank you for performing your tea-leaf-reading skills on my coffee grinds.

      2. Jenny Lind says:

        Kirs also specializes in dream interpretation.

Leave a Reply

