I Survived Opening Weekend!

About 2 months of rehearsals – donesies. The show has begun!

We had a successful dress rehearsal Thursday night, with a few minor hiccups. Then, Friday was opening night. I’m not sure I’ve ever ben so excited and wanted to barf at the same time.

As I was getting into costume, there was a knock of the bathroom door, “Jenny, flowers for you.”  How thoughtful of my friend to bring me flowers! Moments later, another knock. “Jenny, more flowers.” NO WAY! Then, a third knock, “Jenny, we’re just going to put these on the table for you.” My friends really out-did themselves. I am so thankful for their love and support!

My dad, his lady friend and a bunch of people from my church family came to the Saturday performance. My dad planned a little after party for me, and when I arrived at his house, he had rolled out the red carpet and had a star on the floor with my name on it.

Sunday matinees are a little weird. Maybe because it’s a smaller audience, and it’s a different kind of audience. Also, not the same doing a performance during the day.

So, in a nutshell, here’s how I feel: thrilled to perform in front of an audience and overwhelmed by the love of my dear friends and family. You made me feel like a star this weekend. Thank you. And yes, I will be impossible to live with.

It’s not too late to catch the show! The show runs through November 20, Friday & Saturday at 7:30pm and Sunday at 2pm. To reserve tickets, email tickets@maskandmirror.com or call 503.691.1779. Hope to see you there!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Steve Glavan says:

    Your recollections bring back vivid memories for me . . . not of performing on stage, but of receiving lots of flowers – JK! I am so proud of you, and keep wishing I could be there to see you perform. I already know you are a star, I just like to watch you bringing your stardom to life in strange and beautiful ways. Eat ’em up, lady!

  2. Jenny Lind says:

    Thank you SO MUCH! Could not have done this without your encouragement!

Leave a Reply

