Showing Up

I was driving down the road, running my errands on Saturday, when I got a nosebleed. I bled like someone really bopped me in the face. I turned around and headed home. Covered in blood. Car looking like a crime scene.

This was not what I planned for my day, being that I planned to attend an audition. I got myself cleaned up, changed my clothes, and I felt REALLY down.

As with all auditions, I go expecting absolutely nothing and go for the pure joy of the experience and give it everything I have. I know it sounds dumb, but that stupid nosebleed not only made me look like I’d been in a fight. It made me FEEL like I’d been in one, too. I took one look in the mirror and said aloud, “YOU HAVE TO DO THIS.”  I was soon headed out the door to the audition.

I realized through that awful nosebleed this weekend that I am not only my worst critic, but perhaps one of my own biggest obstacles. I know that sounds terribly cliché, but it is the honest truth.

I was offered a role in Red Velvet Cake Wars, and I am really excited about it. The show will be in March/April. And to think….I almost didn’t show up! I am so glad I did.

Don’t give up – ever. That moment you feel like throwing in the towel is the moment you are supposed to PUSH THROUGH!

Thanks, everyone, for your prayers and words of encouragement on my journey!  Keep me in your prayers as I CONTINUE to audition in the coming weeks. More specifically, I have a VERY important audition THIS SATURDAY! I am super excited.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Pat Romans says:

    Congratulations! I know you will be great. I will definitely be there in the audience, on a Friday night when we are dark, cheering you on!!!

    1. Jenny Lind says:

      Thanks, Pat! You are so awesome, and I can’t wait to see you in Robin Hood!

Leave a Reply

