That Was Then

For my 25th birthday, I decided to do things a little differently. Instead of a party, I decided to make a list of things I’ve always wanted to do – what some may call a “bucket list”. I would then check these items off my list during my 25th year of life. One of those items was to audition for a play. I researched and found an audition at a prestigious theater company. Among their requirements was a headshot & resume. So, here is the headshot I had taken and presented at my very 1st audition. I thought it went ok, but I was SO nervous, and my husband recalls that I was devastated to not be offered a part. To be honest, I don’t remember so I am taking his word for it.

I found this picture while packing and cleaning up our home that we lost to foreclosure in September. It gave me an overwhelming sense of gratitude. I cannot believe how far I have come in 8 years, but especially in just the past year. I am 6 days away from turning 33. I feel like that photograph captured the start of my journey. I cannot tell you how many auditions I have been on because, truthfully, I have lost count. I have a big vision for my future, and it seems to grow bigger every day.

Here’s my current headshot. Here is the picture of a woman who is ALL IN. The hard work is starting to pay off. I am loving the journey – even the darkest parts that include self-doubt and many obstacles. 

 Obviously, I do not get every role I audition for but I can tell you that I learn something each and every time. Every experience counts. I do the absolute best I can in that moment. I love meeting new people. I have also come to believe that there are better singers & actors out there than me, but that I am a person who is fun to spend hours on end with at rehearsals etc. So, who do you want? A diva or a comedian?

Here’s to our future, folks. It looks pretty bright to me.

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Kristen says:

    Amen to this sister!!!

  2. Anja says:

    Well said my friend.

Leave a Reply

