Goals, Updates, So On & So Forth

I often say that it’s “good for a person to get in over their heads every once in a while”, and I do. Believe me, I do. I also like to say “it could be worse”, because no matter how BAD something may be – it COULD, in fact, be worse.

It was my intention when I started blogging just over a year ago that I would write about each and every audition and share what I am learning. However, I am a bit busier than I anticipated in my rookie year and well, I go on SO MANY auditions that I have lost count and it would be impossible to write about them all.

One thing I have held myself to is: a minimum of one audition per week. Every week I research open casting calls and submit my headshot & resume, make my appointment or show up for the cattle call. So, when people ask me “what’s up?” or “anything new?”, I literally have NO IDEA where to start. There is indeed always something up, and always something new, but I can barely keep up – and I wouldn’t want it any other way. Every day, I am taking a step toward my dream. Some days are big steps, some are small, but they are steps nonetheless.

In the realm of community theatre, casting changes should just be expected. So, less than 3 weeks before opening, we recast someone in the show I am currently in (Red Velvet Cake War) and I am now playing a larger role. I was originally cast for this part, but was auditioning for other shows and didn’t want to commit to such a big part and was given a minor but fun role. So, we are now 2 weeks from opening. I have plenty of time to learn all this, right?! HA! I’ll be ready – and it’s going to be a fun show.

I had an audition last night for Legally Blonde the Musical. I woud LOVE to be Paulette, but it is a total longshot. It was a great learning experience, and I have NO REGRETS putting myself out there. It did inspire me to look into dance training. So, I am excited about that. If I do not get into a Spring show, I will be focusing on dance & voice training, and doing more stand-up comedy. This and my one audition per week rule, of course.

I’m developing a web series with some friends at Burnin’ Love BBQ & Hautemealz. It’s going to be REALLY fun, and I am excited.

I am working on some music stuff, too! I met with a rapper this weekend. He has some similar goals that I have, is very nice. I was sitting there in a Starbucks visiting with him this weekend, and my nose started to BLEED. It was embarrassing. Once again, ability to laugh at myself came in handy!

My adventure continues in the mentoring program at Integrity Casting with Toni Suttie. When I started this program back in July of 2011, I would have never had the courage to throw myself into auditions like I do now. What a difference a few months makes. My relationship with her has been invaluable.

I know this all seems a bit scattered, so I apologize. I just wanted to give you a run-down. I also want to leave you with this thought today: Are you ALL IN? If there’s something you want, what are you doing about it? Go get it!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. hautemealz says:

    You’re awesome. I need to get you to autograph a grocery bag of something while you’ll still do it for free…

    1. Jenny Lind says:

      No way, partner! We get a pic of ALL of us, and we ALL sign it. 🙂

  2. Toni Suttie says:

    GOOD NEWS TODAY, YOU GOT CAST IN THANDAVAM!

    1. Jenny Lind says:

      Crazy! Can’t wait to hear more! 🙂

Leave a Reply

