Modeling? Huh?

I laughed in Toni Suttie’s face the day we met in person the first time. She said the word “modeling” and I burst out in laughter. She introduced me to people as an “actor, comedian, model”. I was flattered and yet somewhat horrified. But, here I am. Acting. Doing comedy. And now – a bit of modeling. Who knew? Certainly Toni saw that way before I did.

First off, I had little respect for modeling as a profession. I read an article many years ago when a famous supermodel was quoted, “I don’t get out of bed for less than $30,00.” When I think “model” I think skinny, spoiled, diva, ego-maniac. All of that changed the day I met a gorgeous woman named Mary Mackey. Mary has been modeling for a very long time – and STILL is. She is a beautiful person inside and out. Her love of God and people makes her radiant, and it shows through in her work. She did a posing workshop with myself and my fellow Integrity Casting mentees. She was helpful. I was incredibly thankful for her time when my first photo shoot took place 3 months later (pictures featured here on my blog!).

Since that photo shoot, I have responded to other modeling calls. I just had an appointment this past weekend with a wonderful production company. They’re wanting to do a 40’s glamour style ad – and I want to do it so bad! I was pleased with the test shots they took of me, and I hope I am selected for this print work. Additionally – the production team is creative and kind and doing cool stuff. Even if I don’t get this gig, I received amazing compliments from the team about how comfortable & natural I was in front of the camera.

A year ago, I would have NEVER even paid attention to this casting. Once again, if I had waited until I was skinny, had more time, etc., I would have missed out on this unexpected part of the journey. I find myself more and more thankful for folks like Toni Suttie, the Muse Project team, and Mary Mackey.

Each of us has something to offer. Sometimes, we just need to get over ourselves.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. jennimsmith says:

    I want to see you take out a paparazzi!

  2. Toni Suttie says:

    I am forever in awe of MY JENNY!

  3. Anja says:

    Well said again my friend.

    1. Jenny Lind says:

      Glad we did it TOGETHER!

  4. Toni Suttie says:

    Jenny, You never saw what we all see when we look at you, YOU see a curvy gal who wouldn’t have thought of modeling, you didn’t see the absolutely gorgeous woman that WE all want see and to be, not only inside but outside you are light. I am certain you will do many, many, many photo shoot projects, mark my word!

  5. Lisa says:

    You’re not the only one to think of the young divas when you think ‘model.’
    I had an 18 year old say to me a few years ago, “Aren’t you too OLD and short to be a model?”
    I said, “Have you ever seen a magazine ad with the mom or grandma in it? Those people are models. Even us short, old people can be models.”
    In her defense, she did say it as kindly as she could. She was thinking runway model.
    I took that girl to SCHOOL!

Leave a Reply

