Living Out Loud

I love my acting class. I am only in week 2, and I feel like my brain is on fire. I have never been so uncomfortable in my life, and that is how I know I am in the right place. Last night, my teacher said something about me and a couple of my classmates. She named us off and told the class to watch us and learn from our mistakes because we “live out loud”. I am unafraid to make mistakes in this class because I have accepted the fact I am GOING TO. Thus, my guard is down and I am living out loud. I am there to learn, not play it safe.

A few weeks ago, a friend/mentor challenged me regarding the time I spend reading the Bible. She offered to have me send her my notes (my journal). At first, I was like, “Awesome! Accountability. This is good for me.” But then, when I sat down to actually do it, I felt instantly uncomfortable. However, doing this is causing me to dig deeper. It’s making me look closer. It has forced me to block out the noise in my life and really look at each passage to see how it applies to me. In a way, I feel like I got caught taking a dip in the shallow end, sitting on a floaty, sippin’ lemonade. Well, I hung up my floaties and got out the scuba gear.

The key to growth, at least for me, is discomfort. What can I say? I’m a late bloomer.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Dulce says:

    In that I have to agree with you. Being uncomfortable helps you grow and it tells you you are overcoming what is stopping you to become better. I wish I could have the courage you have, I’m scared of making more mistakes that I have already done and get worse at it. My self-esteem is pretty bad.

    1. Jenny Lind says:

      Dulce – you are SO sweet. I am not brave or extraordinary. I am like everyone else. I want to encourage you to think about WHY you’re afraid. Also, mistakes are INEVITABLE. You’re going to make them whether you step out of your comfort zone or not. You may as well do it while pursuing something AWESOME!

Leave a Reply

