Blog Resurrection/Diary Of An Instamom

Like a Phoenix, my blog is rising from the ashes to take flight again. It’s purpose, you say? To serve as a creative outlet & tell my story which frankly, got way more interesting as of late.

I lost my job September 2013, then embarked with my husband later that Fall on a 6 week sabbatical which concluded with the trip of my dreams to Paris. It was magical.

Then the trip was over.

We wanted a family. I needed a job. I hadn’t done any acting in about 6 months. Something needed to give or I was gonna lose my mind (up in here, up in here).

We began seeing a doctor to explore fertility options in January 2014 to put to bed once & for all if it was even possible to have kids. (We had explored adoption & attended classes thru the state, but they’d been very discouraging – saying their purpose was to reunite families.)

On February 27, 2014, my birthday, I interviewed for a job – & got it! I told my boss my dreams of having a family & that I enjoyed acting & wanted flexibility to accommodate those things. I said things you shouldn’t say at an interview. He hired me anyway – & he’s become a dear friend.

At the end of April 2014, we got a phone call on a lazy Saturday. We were just barely out of bed & showered before heading to brunch. A woman with a mutual contact wanted to meet us regarding adopting her 2 year old twin boys. We agreed to the meeting, then hung up the phone. Stunned in silence momentarily, I then burst into laughter. My sweet husband stood there with tears in his eyes in disbelief. He was a nervous wreck all weekend regarding the meeting that Monday, but I was cool as a cucumber; we had reversed roles. I knew when we would meet her – I’d know for sure.

That Monday, I sat across from my Angel (as I call her) & I knew. When she pulled out a photo album, I burst into tears. Their faces. I knew them. I’d dreamt of those exact faces 7 years ago. Blue eyed & fair. My heart knew them. They were my children. In that moment, the 3 of us knew & we moved very quickly to transition the boys.

We received the boys into our home just days before Mother’s Day 2014.

And here is where I’ll hit the pause button for now. I have lots to share…so stay tuned. Remember #neversurrenderyourhope

Leave a Reply

