Letting Go

Sometimes to embrace a stage of life you’re in, you have to let go of some things. 

Creatively, my focus is on things I can do when the boys are asleep. So, writing & recording. Ministry, well, my focus is on home. I’ve found that things overwhelm me & add to my fatigue. My health is a priority now as I need to be well & have lots of energy for my kids. My job is a huge blessing. 

I find this statement more true than ever: When you say yes to one thing, you’re saying no to something else. I hate how cliche that sounds, but it’s true. 

I feel overwhelmed & disconnected at the same time. My feelings are contradictory. I get overwhelmed when I do have things on my plate & then disconnected when I don’t. 

I do not believe balance in life exists. I just believe in phases – or seasons. Something will always take presidence over other areas of your life but that one thing will change seasonally. 

I’m in a season of dry desert. Closed doors. And I’ve decided to let go of some things my heart has longed for for a long time. But I believe the scripture when it says God is near the brokenhearted (Psalm 34:18).

And I look over at the beautiful faces of my children & realize God’s ideas & ways are far better than mine. 

Leave a Reply

