The 1 Year Mark

When you adopt a toddler, you’re getting them at possibly the busiest time of development in life. 

No more pacifiers. No more blankies. No more diapers (except at night time – for now). From daycare to preschool. 4 shoe sizes. Yes, that’s right. FOUR. 

Now, multiply all of that by TWO. 

At some point, almost every day is filled with tears. Sometimes from exhaustion, but mostly from joy. I’m experiencing a joy I never thought would be possible. Not to mention a level of love I didn’t know existed. It has rocked my faith & changed my view on life. How much did God love us to give us His son? I cannot fathom. For me, it’s a new layer of faith. Seeing a new side of God – a deeper meaning of who He is. Further proof of His mystery & adventurous, wild heart. 

I drive a mini-van. That’s right. A “mommy missile”. And I LOVE it. My treasured Honda Odyssey has features that help any parent, especially new ones, like a DVD player. God bless it!

We try desperately to make decisions based on the type of men we want our boys to become. So, decision making is based on what we want the outcome to be. We don’t always get it right, but we do our best. We have wonderful, mischievous boys. I am already seeing hints at who they’re growing up to be, & I could not be prouder. 

The boys both love & look out for each other, but also annoy the crap out of each other. They are polar opposites, but they’re both sweet, loving & too smart for their own good.

It’s been a year for the record books.  Thanks for being a part of our journey!

One Comment Add yours

  1. I am so happy for all of you. It is such joy to share in your life the last year of your lives with your two handsome sons! God has truly blessed you but in turn has blessed us by seeing your joy! I love you my friend and you will always hold a special place in my heart. I pray that you have another blessed Mother’s day this year!!!

Leave a Reply

