30 Days of Gratitude: Day 3

I have always loved & admired my parents. As a young person, they were my whole world. Because of my adoration for them, I grew up with a gross misconception that my love for them was equal to their love for me. 

It wasn’t until I became a parent that I realized how incredibly wrong that thought is. My kids could not possibly understand or surpass my love for them. There is nothing I wouldn’t do. They are more than I ever dreamed of. 

The parent/child relationship is lopsided. 

The realization of this level of love & it’s divinity has prompted many a call, text or email in some form of apology. I’m thankful for the love of a mom & dad. Their love was & remains an echo of God’s love. They haven’t stopped parenting even though I’m 36. They continue to invest, encourage & guide me. They’re imperfect people, but they love me perfectly. 

Leave a Reply

