30 Days of Gratitude: Day 24

My children are the most precious gift. However, they were less than cooperative this morning. My Wyatt screamed a good 3 miles on our drive until his anger was subdued by the gentle rhythm & rhymes of the Jungle Book blaring from the van’s DVD player. 

I barely enter the building before a dear friend & school employee says, “They woke up in a great mood this morning!”. But my stink-eyes told a different story. I made a few remarks, trying to make light of my frustrating morning, as I tried to heard the children into their class. 

Soon the frustration melted away as tender, heartfelt goodbye hugs & kisses came. 

As I walked back to my car to head to my office, I thought about grace. I had not been very gracious with the boys this morning. No, they weren’t perfect – but none of us are. We all certainly have our moments. We had all been a little cranky this morning.

So today, I’m thankful for grace. 

(CAUTION: THINGS ARE ABOUT TO GET ALL JESUS-Y.)

Grace is like a reset button. It’s the ultimate do-over. It’s a covering. It’s a person named Jesus. 

I don’t always get grace right because I’m not Jesus. But I can sure try. And with my children & spouse is the best place to start. 

Leave a Reply

