30 Days of Gratitude: Day 29

We are making the trek back to Oregon today. I love Oregon, but California will always be “home”. I think no matter where you grew up, that place is always what you indentify with as being home. 

Until I moved to Oregon almost 16 years ago, I had no idea what a beautifully diverse area I grew up in.  While Portland is a very accepting & welcoming city, it is not nearly as diverse as my Bay Area. But I think it’ll get there someday.

I think it’s also further testiment of my good upbringing – the fact my parents never called attention to people by the color of their skin. 

So, I’m thankful for my roots in a diverse place.

Leave a Reply

