Countdown to Christmas: Day 10

Today, I saved Christmas for a complete stranger. It was the type of dare-to-be-great moment I had been waiting for. 

Ahead of me in line at Target, was a nice lady picking up a few items; a bottle of wine being one. As the conveyer belt moved her wares along, the bottle wedged between the lip of the counter & another item, causing it to wobble. It was as though I saw it happen in slow motion. I yelled, “Noooooo!”, and caught the bottle before it fell. 

The cashier & customer looked at me with wide-eyed appreciation. The nice lady turned to thank me & her coat opened to reveal a set of scrubs. She said, “You have no idea how much I need that.”, and laughed. I said, “I just saved Christmas!”

Crisis averted. 

Leave a Reply

