Country vs Rap/Hip Hop

I love music. I love all genres. Truly. I enjoy a bit of everything. My taste leans toward pop, but I love it all.

Have you ever noticed how country songs and hip hop are pretty much about the same stuff? I could argue that Johnny Cash, the man in black, was a true OG. 

You can find these themes in common between the 2 genres:

  • Drinking
  • Smoking
  • Cheating
  • Murder
  • Money
  • Hookers
  • Pimps
  • Sex
  • Liars
  • Gangsters
  • Drugs
  • Guns

Add a trailer & a 3-legged dog & you got yourself a country song. Remove those things, you have rap. 

Leave a Reply

