Flowers in Your Hair and Rings on Your Fingers

Hi! We’re Jenny and Beth. You may think we have our act completely together since we’re starting to blog on mentoring. We’re more like you than you may think. Do you walk into a room and forget why you entered it? Do you start a new diet every Monday morning and it’s the longest four hours of your life? Ever look for your sunglasses and they’re sitting atop your head? Do you long for deeper relationships? If you answered yes to ANY of those questions, you’re in the right place. We are just a couple of ladies exploring topics, searching for truth, finding the fun and encouraging each other along the way. Our hope in this collaboration is to share our experience in mentoring through this process and to show you the value of being involved in a mentoring relationship.

Beth about Jenny: I love Jenny girl. She’s creative, witty, challenges borders of conventional wisdom and loves Jesus with all her heart. She wants God’s business to be her business. When I was younger, I assumed everyone thought like I did. Jenny helps challenge me to think in new and creative ways and to really appreciate every one of God’s creations who add so much color to my life with their differences. She honored me by suggesting we do a blog together. (We called it a “joint blog” until I started doing research on creating a joint blog and came up with lots of hits on chronicling experiences with marijuana! We’ve decided to call it a “collaborative” blog.) She’s the wife of a youth pastor/genius at all things tech, and mother to vivacious twin four-year-old boys. Her days are busy, but she always has time to think of others and actually reaches out to keep connected. Plus, she loves to wear pretty (often vintage) clothes, do fancy colors and designs with her hair, and sports some very feminine tattoos and piercings. Jenny blogs at: thefivestages.wordpress.com.

Jenny about Beth: I appreciate so many things about Beth. She is so very supportive. She goes out of her way for others, including me. I love that she’s great at things that I’m terrible at! She’s a gifted teacher and writer, but that is because she is a wonderful student – especially of the Word. As I get older, I have come to value my mentors more. I’ve heard it said that we should treat our mentors like they’re from the future. So, I like to think of Beth as being sent from the future to me to impart wisdom. She provides a little kick in my behind in the kindest of ways at just the appropriate moment I need it. Beth has also given me many opportunities to partner with her in ministry over the past 10 years I’ve known her; in planning retreats and even leading worship at retreats – which is my heart. I’m so glad she sees past who I am and my circumstances and sees who I could be. You know, because she’s from the future. You can find her blog at http://www.forliberty.typepad.com.

Why mentoring?
The book of Proverbs in the Bible is full of wisdom and how to seek it out. Chapter 1 says, “Start with God—the first step in learning is bowing down to God; only fools thumb their noses at such wisdom and learning. Pay close attention, friend, to what your father tells you; never forget what you learned at your mother’s knee. Wear their counsel like flowers in your hair, like rings on your fingers.” (Proverbs 1:7-9; MSG)

image

Over the next weeks we’ll be “Starting with God” then journey into what in the world do flowers in your hair and rings on your fingers have to do with mentoring?! Daisy chains anyone? Stay tuned.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Wendy says:

    You two are such a great combination of wisdom and personalities!
    Can’t wait to read more!

    1. Jenny Lind says:

      Thank you! We’re pretty excited too!

Leave a Reply

