Showing Up

  

So, I’m dieting. Again. And it sucks. It’s really awful, you guys. The withdrawals I’m experiencing are painful. There are health issues that need to be addressed – so this isn’t only about weight loss. This is so I can live longer. This is about seeing my grandkids someday.My failure in this area of my life is well documented through the miracle of the Internet in the form of social media. I’ve done this to myself several times with success, but I’ve yet to achieve change that lasts longer than 3 years. 

And if one more skinny person who’s never been fat a day in their life gives me advice…

Sorry. That was the food rage talking.

 A couple of dear friends wanted to go to Chick-fil-A the other night. I have not been since they arrived here in Oregon in all their deep-fried glory. I perused the menu in preparation. I found a salad. Then immense sadness settled in. Then the cravings for a chicken sammich and their signature Polynesian sauce set in. I knew if I went, I would fail. Again. You see, their food is fried in unicorn tears. It tastes magical. Oh, and let’s not forget the SWEET TEA!

 So, I cancelled. I apologized. I explained my situation. Then, grace took over. They chose a different place for us to meet – & we all had salads. I am 10 & 15 years older than these ladies, but sitting there, I learned so much over that heaping bowl of rabbit food. They lifted my spirit. They showed me grace and strength in community. They loved me right where I was – & let me tell you, it’s not easy. I kicked into storyteller mode & overshared. They now know too much. I’ve known these girls over a decade and now they’ve got major dirt on me! Maybe dieting makes me vulnerable? 

 What’s this got to do with mentoring? 

 Sometimes mentoring is just showing up for people. Continue reading onto Beth’s blog where gives some great thoughts on how to mentor & how the root of mentoring is relationship.

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Kristina Zook says:

    I am with you Jenny! Pizza is my kryptonite! Thanks for sharing your struggles. Its nice to know that I am not the only one. They journey is definitely harder when you are going it alone.

    1. Jenny Lind says:

      Trying to kick things into high gear this coming week. My focus will be cardio & drinking lots of water!
      What are your goals? How can I help?

  2. toni suttie says:

    Oh Jen, Jen, Jen- you are just perfection- your weight is NOT you, you are beautiful, if health is an issue, then I get it, I understand, however if its because you dont feel absolutely GORG in the shell we live in, then know this- US WHO KNOW YOU, LOVE YOU, LIKE YOU etc etc ONLY SEE BEAUTY, ONLY SEE PERFECTION……. Dont beat yourself up….

    1. Jenny Lind says:

      I love & adore you!

  3. jennimsmith says:

    To the lovely ladies…Thank you for eating salad with my friend!

Leave a Reply

