Pursuing Your Dreams 

First of all, dreams suck. But we’ll come back to that.
The Olympics are a great time to discuss dreams. Because the Olympics aren’t about sports, it’s about the human spirit. Anyone else inspired by these super humans from all over the globe?
When I became friends with David Conlee, he shared with me about his dream. I’d never known anyone who could dream as big as David Conlee. And I immediately wanted to be a part of that dream. He was willing to share that dream but he told me I had to find my own dream – that God had something in mind just for me.

It took 10 years. I prayed. I cried. I tried to deny it. But the answer was in my heart – since childhood. The more I open up my heart, the more the dream evolves.

It’s been 8 years since then. There are days I feel no closer to any of my dreams then from the first time I verbalized them. Then I remember the 19 year old girl who cried out to God for a dream. That girl who wanted to know she was meant for more.

Here’s the reality: my dreams may never see the light of day. My life without them was dimmer and my life with them, though sometimes painful, is bright with possibility. That painful part was what I meant when I said dreams suck. When you don’t get opportunity or you’re rejected, it feels like a tear in the fabric of your very soul. That type of wound takes time to mend.

If you ever felt like you were made for more, it’s because you are. So, here’s my advice, dear dreamer:

– Toughen up.

– Surround yourself with people who are better than you.

– Never surrender your hope.

– Dreams do not expire. They do not have due dates like library books.

– Dreams change.

If you’re trying to discover your dream, here’s my advice for you:

– Pray.

– Be open.

– Submit yourself to the journey of discovery. It’ll take time. So, relax. This is a process.

On our own strength, wisdom and abilities, things are not possible. But in Christ, all things are possible. I hold to this even when I’m heartsick with disappointment.

Continue onto Beth’s blog where you’ll be encouraged & inspired in your dream journey.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. toni suttie says:

    Dreams/Passions they never go away, however we have many seasons in life- so if you dream it, be it- It will eventually come to fruition- Just not the season yet.

    1. Jenny Lind says:

      To quote a fav speaker of mine “don’t talk about it – BE about it”.

Leave a Reply

