Like A Virgin

First, let me tell you about Fay. She was my counselor & helped me thru the most difficult time of my life. Her counsel stopped me from ruining my life. I now consider her not only a dear friend, but a mentor.

It was a visit with Fay a while back that changed my view on the parable of the 10 virgins in Matthew 25:1-13. We talked a lot about what the oil represents. How it represents the things we do in private; preparations for His calling.

I tend to live out loud. I don’t have a lot of secrets, but the Lord has been working with me on the things I do privately. He took me back months to that conversation with Fay. So, now I’m doing things in private that I cannot share with the masses just yet. Not that it’s because they’re anything exciting. It’s not even because I fear failure in these things. It’s because I’m working toward my dreams in quiet ways. I’m putting in the work. It’s hard. I want to be ready when the Lord calls upon me. I want to be prepared like those 5 Virgins in the parable who had EXTRA oil. I don’t want to miss out on any opportunity because I’m unprepared and unqualified.

“Don’t talk about it. BE about it.”

Donnie Moore

Maybe when we hand Jesus our troubles and disappointments, He can turn those things into oil, too. I find that I can cope better with my struggles when I think of them as being put into an oil reserve, preparing me for my future.

Beth’s blog explains this more in depth and is a great lesson on how the things we do in private impact our God given dreams.

Just remember…

Leave a Reply

