Fruit Snacks 

We eat a lot of fruit at my house. And fruit snacks. What bugs me about fruit snacks is my inability to really distinguish one from another. They’re all kind of similar tasting and similar looking. It’s a little disturbing, actually. One of my kids asked me what one was and I said “snozzberry”. Yep, I pulled a Wonka – because I genuinely didn’t know. So much for organic snacks!


We’re gearing up for our series on the fruits of the Spirit. I’ve been thinking a lot about my life and the type of “fruit” it’s growing. 

Galatians 5:22-23

22 But the Holy Spirit produces this kind of fruit in our lives: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, 23 gentleness, and self-control. There is no law against these things!

When I was growing up, we had a lemon tree in our front yard and another large tree on the side of the house. When my sister and I played outside in the front yard, the lemon tree obstructed her view. My father came home from work one day and…that tree was a three inch stump. Thus began the nickname we gave her “the mad hacker”. 

My uncle was visiting another time and told my dad he’d prune the large tree on the side of the house. Unbeknownst to him, my crazy Uncle Ron cut away nearly everything. It was basically a totem pole. My dad was ticked. It looked ridiculous! My uncle swore that tree would flourish and thankfully, he knew what he was talking about. That tree was even more beautiful than before. 

Is your life bearing fruit? What kind? Sometimes I feel like a snozzberry fruit snack reject. If I’m being honest – I feel like I’m being pruned. But I’m clinging to that memory of the tree my uncle pruned and how it grew in even more beautiful. I’m not the stump of the ill-fated lemon tree. I will produce in my time! And I pray my life reflects the fruits of the Spirit. 

Continue onto Beth’s blog as we begin to unpack these fruit snacks.

Leave a Reply

