Fruit of the Spirit #1: What Is Love?

In 1995, Gary Chapman‘s book, The Five Love Languages: How to Express Heartfelt Commitment to Your Mate, outlines five basic expressions of love. You see, we’re all broadcasting signals. And we all have a preferred method of receiving love.

  1. Gifts
  2. Quality Time
  3. Words of Affirmation
  4. Acts of Service
  5. Physical Touch

Mine is gifts, and my husband’s is acts of service. I’m raising physical touch & words of affirmation kids.

Love is so much more than romance. It’s more than the butterflies. It’s more than any feeling. It’s commitment and sacrifice & requires your whole being. I’m reminded of this today as my kids throw up, and I rub their backs as they get sick. I remembered all the times my parents took care of me in sickness, and how David has held my hair back when I’ve gotten sick.

Love is so much more than we can define because it comes directly from God himself. Continue onto Beth’s blog for more teaching about love as we continue our series on Fruits of the Spirit.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s