Peace of My Mind: Fruit of the Spirit #3

Peace. It’s one of those things that you don’t fully appreciate until you’ve lost it for a season. Peace is likely the most underrated of the fruits of the Spirit that we’re talking about in this series for that fact alone. 
I don’t believe the opposite of peace is conflict. I have found peace that passes understanding amidst the storms of life. To me, the opposite of peace lies in unforgiveness. 

Nothing robs you blind of your peace the way unforgiveness does. It can burrow deep into your heart and settle there if unchecked for too long.

Many years ago during a major conflict, someone I admire came to me and gave me this verse.

Romans 12:18 If it is possible, as far as it depends on you, live at peace with everyone.

As far as it depended on me- I was at peace. I did everything I could to be at peace with them. When you actively pursue peace, you have no regrets. 
I hope you too can experience peace like that. Even when you foolishly walk thru your house in the dark and step on a lego. Even when your kid colors on your carpet. 

My mom recently said to me, “Aren’t you glad God doesn’t get burned out?”, and that statement hit me like a lightening bolt. He never grows weary. He is able to provide EVERYTHING I need and more. He IS the prince of peace.

Continue onto Beth’s blog for more about peace. 

Leave a Reply

