Out of Control

This is the final fruit of the Spirit we’re wrapping up our series with – self control. Truthfully, I’ve dreaded this particular topic as I am not exactly the poster child for self control. 

I am a compulsive and emotional eater. I eat when I’m happy, sad, angry, tired, bored or for social reasons. I am not going to sugar coat the truth for you because then I’d probably want to eat that, too. I have gained and lost 60-100 pounds at least 3 times in my lifetime. At my skinniest, I was awake at 5am to work out and I ate ZERO carbs or sugar. ZERO. NADA. ZILCH. NOTHIN’. Veggies and meat made up most of my diet with snacks of cheese and occasional berries to satisfy that wicked evil sweet tooth that I have had my entire life. (Seriously, if I could identify which tooth is the sweet tooth, I would’ve had it yanked years ago.) Sweet treats are my downfall. 

FACT: I have attempted diets twice yearly for the past decade. There is nothing I have not yet tried except surgery – and I am unwilling to go there. Truth is that with Christ’s help, I can do this. Because nothing is impossible with Him.

I definitely understand Paul’s words when he says in Romans 7:15 “I don’t really understand myself, for I want to do what is right, but I don’t do it. Instead, I do what I hate.”  

What about you? What areas in your life to lack self control and which areas are you absolutely killin’ it? How can we help each other? Continue onto Beth’s blog for teaching on self control. 

Leave a Reply

