A Girl Called Tree: A Story & Song

I had the privilege of being with my sister, Carrie, when she gave birth to both of her children (Mikela – 19, Cameron – 16) as well as my sister in law, Amanda, when she brought her oldest into the world, Olivia. 

Today is Olivia’s 13th birthday. Her mother had the idea of starting a tradition of doing a coming of age ceremony. She asked family and friends to write letters to Olivia as part of this special celebration. 

I immediately prayed about what to say. Her family has this inside joke of calling Olivia “tree”. She is tall, and is the oldest of 5 children. She looks like a tree. 

My mind immediately thought of Psalm 1:3:

They are like trees planted along the riverbank, bearing fruit each season. Their leaves never wither, and they prosper in all they do. (NLT)

I have decided to pray this over her life. As I prayed, a song begin to pour out of my heart. 

So, here is my song, Tree. 

Side note: I’m so incredible thankful for talented friends who are not only musicians with a studio in their home – but they drop everything to help me. Not just with this, but in life. I’m not sure how I hit the lottery in friendship, but I truly did. So, a special thanks to these wonderful people. Couldn’t have done it without them!

As you read this today, I pray you’re like a tree, too. That you prosper in all you do, that you learn and grow, living the life God had in mind before you were even a seed. 

Leave a Reply

