A Tale of Tamar

Beth’s observations about Tamar in Genesis 38 are so good. My takeaway from it was this thought:

Now, I want to make sure you know which Tamar we’re talking about. We’re not talking about King David’s daughter – who was raped & abandoned. We’re talking about Judah’s daughter-in-law, twice widowed & left destitute. Both of these women were wronged! Both were in a culture and time where women were treated like property. Both were victims of circumstance, but only 1 took matters into her own hands. And THAT is the Tamar we are looking at.

This story is like Maury Povich in the 90’s where Judah is called out and Tamar tells him he’s the baby (babies) daddy. 

I often fight the urge to take matters into my own hands. When I feel wronged. When I’m unhappy. Sometimes when it’s just a Tuesday. Or when my husband doesn’t take out the garbage; I take it out then wheel the can over to the curb in a pathetic display of passive-aggression. Mostly, I think I just take it out on my hair. (Which is currently shades of platinum & blonde with hues of lavender & blue.) Or, I eat my feelings. 


When we feel out of control, we think, say and do things that we wouldn’t under normal circumstances. Desperation makes us stupid. Again, women – we are plotters. Capable of bringing down our enemies. We hold people to their word because we never forget anything with our elephant-like memories. 

I just want to do what’s right. I want to boldly stare circumstance in the face & say “NOT TODAY!”; doing what is right even though what happened was wrong. 

Leave a Reply

