Oh Lordy, Look Who's 40!


Robert Downey Jr. Denzel Washington. Brad Pitt. George Clooney. What do they all have in common? Besides being household names, they’ve aged gracefully. Further proof of how unfair life is for us ladies. How many actresses have you heard about recently aging well? What’s worse is that we seem to appreciate the distinguished look of these men as they get older. I would argue some are better looking now than when they were younger. 
Today is my husband’s 40th birthday. I was thinking about how he’s spent nearly half of his life with me. How his beard is full and turning gray. How his thick, dark and shiny locks have streaks of wisdom in them. 

His smile puts me at ease. His laughter, when you really crack him up, is contagious. His green eyes still sparkle at me with the same love as the day I entered into the church in my white dress and he waited for me at the altar. 


He has aged like a fine Tillamook cheddar. 


It’s not easy to share me with the man cubs we’re raising, but he does so without complaint and teaches our boys every day how to be good husbands through the love and affection he shows me. He also protects me from these savage beasts when necessary. 

I love him more every day. Not for making me feel valuable. Not even for fighting for our marriage. Not even for unloading the dishwasher or taking out the garbage. I love him simply for him. His dreams. His heart. His mind. His creative prowess. His ability to have a vision and execute it with style. His love of baseball (GO GIANTS!). 


His love for our kids. His passion for the church. His faith. Our mutual geekdom of all things Star Wars, Disney & Marvel universe. Our inside jokes. His obsession with Christmas, resulting in our tree going up sometime early November.

I don’t really like those Nike fluorescent green shorts he wears, but he works so hard- I live with it. I’ll give him that. Even though in words of his friend, “David looks like a highlighter” when he wears them. 

Thank you, David, for choosing me to grow old with. The best is yet to come! 

Leave a Reply

