The Edge of Something Greater


Every so often, a song jumps out of my speakers, hurls through the air, travels through my ears and pierces my heart. I heard the song Frontiers by Vertical Church Band and at first I thought, “I wish I’d written that”. Then I thought, “Did someone read my mind or my journal?” 

Lead me to the end of myself. Take me to the edge of something greater. Friends, this is the absolute cry of my heart. It is a theme for my quest to die to self. Wait, “quest” sounds like an adventure. Perhaps the word “battle” is much more suitable. 

I sat in a coffee shop with a dear friend the other day. She said she was proud of me. How I’ve navigated disappointment and rejection. I laughed. I never thought of myself as handling those things well. But the only other option is to become bitter – and I refuse. And when you have family and friends like this in your corner, you somehow find your muchness again. You find your courage to hope again. 

Every day, the more I let go of my plans, the closer I feel to the edge of something greater. That something is God’s plans. 
Frontiers by Vertical Church Band

VERSE

I cannot feel your love so strong and still 

From where I’ve hidden

I cannot hear your voice above my will

But still you listen

PRECHORUS

And all the while 

You call me to your grace

All that I undid fades

CHORUS

Lead me to the end of myself

Take me to the edge of something greater

VERSE

I’m looking out beyond this great unknown

Though I can’t see it

One day I’ll see the place you call my home

Lord, I’ll be near it

BRIDGE
I am standing on the great frontiers

Of your love, of your love

You have overcome my deepest fears

With your love, with your love

Leave a Reply

