How  Can It Be

In my youth, I played Mary, mother of Jesus, in many a church Christmas program. I’ve said the line straight from Luke 1:34, “How can it be?”, at least a half dozen times. But Mary’s reaction is completely legitimate, to say the least.

I think many of us ask this question when we reflect on God’s promises. I ask the question still – about so many things. I get caught up in semantics. I get caught up in logistics. I get trapped in negative thinking. I know how it feels; when it hurts to hope.

Other times when the miracles come – because they DO, maybe we ask the question again. The question takes on new meaning. It takes on an exclamation of joy. 
When you begin to unpack all Christ has done, it’s hard to fathom. I love this song by Lauren Daigle. 

I am guilty

Ashamed of what I’ve done, what I’ve become

These hands are dirty

I dare not lift them up to the Holy one

You plead my cause

You right my wrongs

You break my chains

You overcome

You gave Your life

To give me mine

You say that I am free

How can it be

How can it be

I’ve been hiding

Afraid I’ve let you down, inside I doubt

That You still love me

But in Your eyes there’s only grace now

Though I fall, You can make me new

From this death I will rise with You

Oh the grace reaching out for me

How can it be

How can it be
Check out Beth’s post about Mary.

Leave a Reply

