Check Your Heart

One of the reasons I love partnering with Beth in this collaborative effort is because she thinks different than me. Her posts are study driven while mine tend to be anecdotal. We’re looking at Matthew 5:8 this week as we continue our look at the Beatitudes.

Blessed are the pure in heart, for they will see God.

I want to talk about having pure motives. It’s actually something I pray for and give myself frequent heart check-ups. Here’s a few questions I ask myself regarding serving and/or giving:

  • Will anyone know I did this?
  • How do I benefit from it?
  • Will this lead to future opportunities or get me close to certain people?
  • Will this glorify the Lord or myself?

There’s many types of people you can become if you don’t ask yourself these questions. Here are some examples of people who do not ask themselves these questions:

The Superhero

They swoop in at the last minute to help but contribute very little. They are experts. Often critical, they tout how things wouldn’t get done without them. Only thing they’re missing is some shiny leotard and a cape.

The Martyr

They take on enormous tasks but do not ask for help so that they don’t have to share credit with others. Then they drone on and on about how hard they work. Only thing they need is a statue in their honor.

Captain Negativity

They sit back and observe, only to tell you how you could’ve done it better. They question authority every step of the way, and hinder progress. They create dissension through gossip. Pardon me, sir. Did my back hurt your knife?

These things don’t just apply to the church but other organizations and businesses as well.

Growing up, I recall seeing my parents leave bags of groceries on the porch of a family in need. Under cover of night, they rang the doorbell and ran! I’m guessing to this day, that family still doesn’t know it was them. On another note: these people were not particularly kind to my parents. I believe my parents received an extra blessing because of that. 

My husband is the tech guy for our church. He spent hours working on troubleshooting something this week. A colleague stayed by his side for hours helping him. He had other things to do; that’s not his job. But he knew it was important to David and he knew it would add to the church’s Sunday morning experience. He will get no credit for doing this. But he has our admiration and appreciation. He did not once think how helping would make him look because frankly, nobody was there to see him help! 

I hope I’m like that. I hope I do things without getting any return. I hope I do them in secret. Lord, help me to love and serve like you; selflessly.

Leave a Reply

