Whirled Peas

What does peace really mean? What did Jesus say about it? Beth gives great detail and scriptures about peace. 

We are nearing the end of our series on the Beatitudes. Only 1 more week left after this! Today, we’re looking at peacemakers. 

Matthew 5:9 Blessed are the peacemakers, for they will be called children of God.

Did you know the youngest child (aka the baby of the family) is typically the peacemaker? As the youngest, I hope this is true of me.

Many years ago, someone came against me over something I had not done. A woman I admire and who knew me well enough to know it was untrue gave me this scripture and it changed my life:

Romans 12:18 If it is possible, as far as it depends on you, live at peace with everyone.

I’ll do what I can to live at peace with my neighbors. That starts with kindness. Kindness will never go out of style. You’ll never hear that on Project Runway or What Not to Wear, but I’m sure they’d agree with me. 

You won’t find a peacemaker engaging in a social media debate that ends in name calling. You won’t find them spewing hatred in violent protests. You won’t find them at your local kkk meetings. 

So, back away from the keyboard. Take a breath. Maybe turn off the news. Buy the lady in the car behind you a latte next time you’re in the St. Arbuck’s drive thru. It’s the smile you give to the cashier at Target who’s having a bad day. It may seem small and may not change the world, but it will mean the world to the people you touch. 

John 13:35 By this all men will know that you are My disciples, if you have love for one another.

Leave a Reply

