What’s In It For Me?

Beth and I are continuing our look at 1 Corinthians 13. Today we’re talking about what it means to be self seeking.

I’m so tired and worn out as I write this. Sunday’s have become the hardest day of my week, and thus I’ve dubbed them the new Monday. My kids gave me a run for my money and I acted like a crazy person at church. I was so wound up, I could barely speak to anyone. What’s interesting is when you pray for God to give you children for the better part of a decade, you experience tremendous guilt on days you want to rip your eyelashes out one at a time. At least, that’s how it is for me. So atop my frustrations, add guilt. It’s like the poop icing to a cake made of poop. 

All that to say – Motherhood is not self seeking. There’s nothing about the love for your child that is selfish. Because honestly, they’ll never love you as much as you love them – it’s physically impossible. It gives us just a snapshot of Christ’s love for us – and it’s a beautiful picture. In the Instagram of your soul, there’s no filter on that. It’s incredible. 

When it comes to parenting, there’s nothing in it for you. And yet, it’s rewarding. So, if you are in relationships with people because you feel you may benefit or likewise if you don’t associate with people you have nothing to gain from – IT’S WRONG. It cheapens love. That isn’t real love. 

And in honor of my arguing with my kids all weekend, here’s this week’s cover:

Leave a comment